New Giveaway-Play Detective

And now another giveaway!!

Yes, yes, I know I just finished one, but it was so much fun, that I had to do another right away. Speaking of that giveaway, I have heard from both Diane and Darcy, and their winnings should be in the mail tomorrow. 

Anyways, this new giveaway goes hand-in-hand with the updates I just made to my etsy shop. I just posted the Sherlock Holmes Clubs. There is the knitting not-just-sock club, the crochet not-just-sock club, the knitting sample club and the crochet sample club.

I love sock clubs and yarn clubs, but I noticed a few general problems:

1. They get really expensive; so I came up with a sample club. Big enough to enjoy new yarn each month, and create a small project out of it, but it won’t break the bank.

2. I like to make socks, but not only socks; so I made my clubs not-just-sock clubs, with projects made from sock yarn so if you choose you can create only socks, but there are options.

3. I haven’t seen a crochet sock club. Not to say that they don’t exist (I do not claim omniscience – if you know of one please, please, please let me know!!) So along with my knitting not-just-sock, and sample clubs, I have crochet clubs at the same price with the same theme, and same yarn. Only difference is the pattern, (and there may be a few less socks in the general scheme of things.)

The giveaway rules:

Play Detective!

December’s Shipment is based on a particular Holmes story, and I will drop hints here and there throughout the next week or so, and you, my fine readers can guess which story this month will be based on.

If you’re not a Holmes fanatic like myself, don’t worry. This works off of participation, not accuracy. Hazard a guess on which Holmes story it is, and your name will be in the drawing to win a 3 month subscription of the club of your choice. (I’m thinking one of the not-just-sock clubs, but if you would rather a sample club, that’s fine with me.)  The hints will also go from very vague to more concrete each time.

Hint #1- This story featured the “Rebellion of ’57”

Edit: Thank you Ikkinlala! Yep, please leave your guess comments on this post, though commenting on any post with a guess is valid.

Tags: , , , ,

75 Responses to “New Giveaway-Play Detective”

  1. ikkinlala Says:

    Do we guess here? My guess is ‘The Sign of the Four’ – I hope I’m remembering correctly; I’m not a Holmes fanatic but I did read some not too long ago.

    What a neat idea for a club!

  2. Saturday Review: My new bag!! « Hook and Needle Girl Says:

    […] Hint#2 – In this story we here about the habits of the pawnbroker’s. Guesses? […]

  3. Jenna Says:

    Oh, what a great idea for a sock club!! And thank you for making it crochet friendly. My guess is “The Sign of the Four.”

  4. Cat Says:

    I am no Holmes aficionado, so I will hazard an extremely random guess. A Study in Scarlet!

  5. Sami Says:

    I’m going to go with what the great overlord google suggested, because I can’t recall having read about the rebellion.
    “The Sign of the Four”?

    My other guesses will be legit 🙂

  6. Veronica Says:

    What a generous giveaway! I guess “The Sign of the Four” 🙂

  7. Kim Says:

    I must admit that I’ve never read a single Sherlock Homes story, but I totally love the idea of the sock club.
    After reading the description of several of Sir Conan Doyle’s books in Wikipedia, I’m saying it’s Sign of the Four as well.
    Good luck with your sock club!

  8. knitmit Says:

    My guess is… the Red-Headed League. Thanks!

  9. Susan Says:

    My guess is the sign of the four – because Google said so ;o)

  10. Margie Says:

    Sherlock Homes just started on PBS. What timing!! My guess would also be “The Red Headed League”.

  11. Stacie Says:

    I’ll throw in “Sign of the Four”. Now I need to go read more Holmes 🙂

  12. Lesley Says:

    It probably is “The Sign of the Four” as everyone else says. But since I’m doing this off the top of my head, I’m actually guessing “The Blue Carbuncle” because it is my favorite Holmes story. Wow, another Holmesian knitter!

  13. Rayleen Says:

    The Sign of the Four. 🙂

  14. Jaguarrior Says:

    My guess is The Sign of Four!

  15. Sara Says:

    I’m gonna guess “The Sign of the Four”. It’s been a long time since I’ve read any Sherlock Holmes though. I guess when I get my new e-reader, I’ll have to add some!

    Great idea for a club.

    Don’t discount me for being in Japan, please. I have a US address yarn can be sent to and I will receive it.

  16. InJuneau Says:

    “The Sign of Four”

  17. Linda Says:

    I’m like others following the gods of Google: ‘The Sign of Four’

  18. Heather Says:

    I’m also going to have to guess “The sign of the four” , a conclusion helped drawn by google and wikipedia. Cool idea for a club though!

  19. Dee Says:

    Neat idea! I’ll also go with “The Sign of Four”

  20. Liz Says:

    Have to agree with others, “The Sign of Four.”

  21. oonagh Says:

    spiff idea!!

    i think i’ll add a vote for “sign of four”…….

  22. ellen Says:

    i think i’ll add a guess for “sign of four” also.

  23. Jessie Says:

    What great ideas for a club: not-just-socks and colorways based on literature 🙂 And I supposed the answer is probably “The Sign of Four”, since that’s what everyone else is saying Google says…

  24. Heather Says:

    What a fun idea for a club! And I absolutely agree — you don’t always want to knit socks…

    I believe it’s “The Sign of the Four.”

  25. T Says:

    I also guess the Sign of Four. I love Sherlock – what a brilliant idea for a club!

  26. Marie Says:

    I’m going with the Hound of the Baskervilles – since that’s the only Holmes story I can remember the name of. I’m waiting to see how the new Sherlock Holmes movie does – I think they’re going a little too ‘action-hero’ on him for my liking.
    Great idea for a yarn club – keep up the good work. And stay away from Moriarty.

  27. Robin Pearce Says:

    I guess, “The Sign of Four”

  28. Gladys Says:

    I’m betting on “The Sign of the Four” too — google is sooo handy!

  29. adrienne Says:

    my son is the sherlock holmes fanatic and has been busy reading the entire collection of stories. unfortunately, he is not here at the moment.

    i will guess “the sign of four” because that is what everyone else is guessing. yes, i can be a lemming at times.

  30. Sharon Rose Says:

    Sign of the Four! 🙂

  31. Susan Says:

    I will go with The Sign of Four. We have all the Jeremy Brett, Sherlock
    Holmes on tape. He was excellent as Holmes.

  32. christine Says:

    The sign of Four!

  33. Laura Says:

    Hi! Love the giveaways!!

    I’m guessing “The Sign of Four” too.

  34. Magpie Says:

    The Sign of the Four

    My boyfriend is Basil Rathbone’s great grandson… A long Homlesian history there!

  35. Bonnie Says:

    The Sign of Four

  36. bluestocking Says:

    The Sign of the Four!

  37. Julie Says:

    The Sign Of Four

  38. lunarawe Says:

    Well it seems silly to be guessing so late but it really does seem to be The Sign of the Four. What a lovely way to do a give away! And good luck with all of the clubs!

  39. Kristen Says:

    I have never read “the Sign of the Four” but it seems to be the popular choice. I need to get some books and start reading!

  40. scottishbunny2003 Says:

    Thanks for sharing on Rav!

    My guess is Sign of The Four – referring to the pawned watch with numbers inside?

  41. Kelly Says:

    The sign of the four?
    Such a cute club idea!

  42. Kelly Says:

    wow, i never thought i could mess up my own email address that I’ve had for 10 years, but I did! haha

  43. Amergin Says:

    No, I’m with the minority: The Red-headed League for the pawnbroker reference, although the rebellion reference escapes me in either guess so far.

  44. rmsheffler Says:

    Is it ‘The Sign of the Four’?

  45. Jill Says:

    The Sign of the Four.

    What a great idea!

  46. Silvia Says:

    It is deffinatly ‘The Sign of Four’
    Your giveaway is a great Idea!!

  47. Wendy Says:

    I’ll say – The Sign of Four 🙂

  48. June Says:

    The Sign of the Four.

  49. tracey Says:

    The Sign of the Four. I cheated and asked the husband.

  50. Kathy Says:

    Sign of Four

    Yaay Holmes

  51. Brenda Says:

    It’s elementary! The Sign of Four!

  52. Nicole Says:

    Awesome idea! The answer is “The Sign of Four.”

  53. TerryS Says:

    You’ve inspired me to pull out my Sherlock Holmes books. Now if I could only knit and read at the same time! My guess is “The Sign of Four”.

  54. Tara Says:

    My guess is “The Sign of the Four”. What a great give-away idea!

  55. Donna Says:

    “The Sign of the Four”. I have been a huge Sherlock fan for many years. I even had a cocker spaniel named Sherlock who lived to be 15 years old. I now have a dog named Watson!

  56. Tamsyn Says:

    I’m guessing ‘The Sign of the Four’ also.

    Although I’ve just realised that I’ve never read a Sherlock Holmes book 😦

  57. Tracy Says:

    The first clue made me think “Sign of Four,” but the pawnbroker reference reminded me of “Red-Headed League.” I’ll try to narrow it down after the third clue.

    phoenixfire@ravelry

  58. MW Says:

    The Red-Headed League?

  59. kelly jean Says:

    My guess is league of 4.

  60. quinn Says:

    I’m going to break up the gradual “Four” landslide by throwing in “The Adventure of the Mazarin Stone” 🙂

  61. MSH Says:

    I am going with “Sign of Four” and I too have never found a crochet sock club and think it is an awesome idea!

  62. Courtney Says:

    My guess is the “Sign of Four”

  63. Lara Says:

    Sign of the Four?

  64. Eileen Says:

    I am going to guess “Sign of Four” Love the idea of a not just sock club.

  65. Lauria Says:

    Catching up on old blog posts now! So exciting my husband and I love reading Holmes stories

    “A Study in Scarlet” 🙂

  66. LilChickadee Says:

    “The Sign of Four”?

  67. Kristina Says:

    I’m pretty sure it would be “The Sign of Four” but it’s been awhile since I’ve read it. Maybe I should reread some Holmes.

  68. Carrie Says:

    The Sign of the Four?

  69. K Says:

    not original, but I’d say Sign of 4 as well. thanks for hosting this!

  70. Thatgrrl Says:

    Yup, gotta concur on Sign of Four.

  71. Jennifer Says:

    Definitely The Sign of Four.

  72. Erin Says:

    I’m guessing “The Sign of Four”

    I look forward to seeing the yarns from your club. Don’t know if I’ll get to join officially though.

  73. Megan Says:

    I will go with “The Sign of Four” since that is what I came up with on Google. I will have to read that story, since I don’t believe I have read it yet.

  74. loremor Says:

    It’s the sign of four….

  75. Bronwyn Says:

    I have to admit that I have no idea. I’m going to have to cheat and look off my neighbor’s paper and guess “The Sign of the Four.”

Leave a Reply

