Crochet Today Quick & Easy Gifts 2009

crochet today

Okay, so I wanted to focus on the ‘gift issues’ that I am seeing all over my local bookstores this week. First off is Crochet Today.

Adult Apparel: 2 hats, 2 scarves, 1 shrug, 1 shawl, and 1 pair of socks

Accessories: 1 necklace, 2 bags, 1 sleep mask, 1 sunglass case

Baby:1 pair of sneaker-booties (adorable!), a rattle, a dress, a hat, and a shirt

Home: 3 pillows, 8 throws/baby blankets(including a functioning tic-tac-toe board), 1 table runner, 3 box-basket things, 1 dog bed, 1 snowflake motif (for various decor uses) 

Toys: 1 monkey (with and without santa hat), 1 ice cream cone, x and 0 for tic-tac-toe

Total: 36 patterns

Summary:

All in all I really liked this issue. I do have a warning: a lot of these are NOT new patterns, in fact it’s possible none of them are. I see repeats from last holiday’s issue as well as some other patterns I’ve spotted throughout the years. However, if like me, you couldn’t dig up every last issue you’ve gotten if you wanted to, then this is perfect.

If, however, you are more organized than myself and my counterparts, you might just want to go over the last year and change of issues and find yourself some good quick patterns. (If you have a baby to crochet for, I really do like the sneaker-booties.)

My rating: 5-BOYThe patterns work, and except for the blankets, the dog bed and the shawl (which is done in crochet thread) everything should be quick and easy to make. This is a huge point in my favor as my “to make something for” list is over 20 people.

One Response to “Crochet Today Quick & Easy Gifts 2009”

  1. Alison Says:

    They’re all reprint patterns, as far as I know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

