Monday Magazine Review: Crochet Uncut

Okay, I found out two things yesterday. 1- There are no new crochet print magazines out right now and 2- Bookstores don’t like it when you rifle through their magazine section looking for something that isn’t there.

Don’t worry though! All is not lost. I was very disappointed that there were not print magazines out, but I didn’t discount e-zines! So this is my first e-zine review. (Drum-roll please)

crcohet uncut

Crochet Uncut, Summer 2009

I have to say that I do love the Crochet Liberation Front (CLF on ravelry), and I found that I really like their zine.

One of the things that I like most about this zine is the articles. There are 8 articles, and each of them is enjoyable. The ‘how-to’ create a row counter bracelet is incredibly useful not just for crocheters, but also knitters. (Oh and knitters, if you like the olive-martini bag on the cover pic, there’s a knit pattern for you too!)

The pattern breakdown is:

Accessories: 1 headband, 1 scarf, 1 (absolutely gorgeous!) stole, and 2 olive-martini bags (one of which is knit)

Other: amigurumi bumblebees, hook (and dpn for the bi-stitchual) case, and water/baby bottle holder(I do like the carabiner, but worry that it will pull your pants down

Total Count: 8 patterns

My rating: 5-BOYThis magazine is small in comparison to the major magazines out there but let’s remember that 1- it’s not one of the major magazines and 2- that its free. I loved that there were as many articles as patterns (I am an article fiend, and it made me smile to see 8 and 8). I also was a big fan of the pattern pictures.

I know just how hard it is to get a good picture of a finished object, and though some of the photos were obviously amateur, none of the photos detracted from the appeal of the patterns. Hooray for the magazine and hooray for the designers.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Monday Magazine Review: Crochet Uncut”

  1. Darlisa Riggs Says:

    Thank you for the nice review of Crochet Uncut! I’m trying very hard to keep it balanced, informative, and fun!

  2. Tena Says:

    Thank you for the great reviews of Crochet UnCut. This is one of my favorite e-zines
    tena

  3. TeaJoyGreye Says:

    Great Review! Another thing to keep in mind is that this is still a fairly new magazine, and it will likely get bigger as more designers hear about it and contribute.

    (Also, I am one of the amateur photographers 😉 Thankfully I now have an actual digital camera and am not relying on the built in one on our laptop!)

Leave a Reply

