Tuesday Tips: Household Helpers

Today I would like to show you a few things that I use around the house when I either:

a.)discover I need something at 10pm Sunday night

(or)

b.) would rather spend the money on yarn.

I don’t know if this happens to everyone, but it’s almost a certainty that if something’s going to go missing on me, it will go missing at the one time that I can’t replace it. So, for all your crochet and knitting emergencies, here are my household helpers.

floss threaderDental Floss Threader-

Used normally for flossing with braces, it can also be used to pull thick yarn though either beads or eyes of small needles.

Replaces: Big eye needle and needle threader

 

RUBBER%20BAND

Rubber Bands

These inexpensive little guys are great for keeping projects on the needles (or tunisian crochet hook) and keeping all your supplies together.

Replaces: knitting needle coil wraps, needle point protectors

ruler

Ruler

This is great not just for usual measurements and checking gauge, but it also works great as a ‘wpi’ or wraps per inch tool (and keeping the other knitters in line at knit night 😉 )

ziploc

Gallon sized zip-bags (brand name not withstanding) are great work-in-progress bags. You can see what’s inside them, they’re less permeable than a stitched bag, and the smooth inside keeps yarn from getting caught or tangled. Best of all, they’re disposable.

Replaces: any small WIP bag

yarn ballpretty

Extra Yarn

The best thing about this is that you should have it everywhere! I know I do. I love using extra yarn as stitch markers on both my crochet and knitting or as a stitch holder on my knitting or tunisian crochet.

Replaces: stich markers (knit+crohcet) and stitch holders

Total Cost: $8.33 (I didn’t add anything for extra yarn, hopefully you have some on hand 🙂 )

Buying the specialty items they replaced: $47.52

Having the extra money to get another skein of Malabrigo: Priceless

(I’m sorry! I’m sorry, I couldn’t resist.)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

