Monday Morning Mag Review: Simply Knitting and Interweave Crochet

june

Simply Knitting June

This magazine was a lot of fun to browse, not only did it come with a free sock needle set, holder and a lovely fair isle sock pattern but sprinkled through the magazine were 26 pages with those fun little blurbs that are so common in ‘Women’s Interest’ magazines like Cosmo, Lucky, or Redbook.

Patterns:
Women’s: 2cardigans, a short sleeved sweater
Acessories: crochet bag, unisex socks
One men’s sweater
Household: rug, floor cushion, hanging organizer
Miscellaneous: robot toy, and knit/crochet/fabric flower pattern, 3 lace stitches

Total number of patterns: 16 patterns (17 including ‘free’ sock pattern in pack)

There were a few cute articles in there but the one that I really did like was an interview with Kelley Deal, the lead guitarist of The Breeders. I was very proud of myself for not having to go look them up (my musical tastes are not terribly widespread.)

My rating:4BallsHonestly, with the price of this magazine, my suggestion is to look at what it’s giving away, is it worth the extra $3-$4? It’s a good magazine, but I wouldn’t pay the extra money for it by itself.

crochet

Interweave Crochet, Summer 2009

There is a lot of fun with laceweights going on in this issue, I am all for that, because I am a firm believer that laceweight is not just for knitting. Umm…working on a project that speaks to that point now. (Does that make 6 WIP’s ? 7?)
My favorite article talks all about the Victorian crochet revolution, I think I am a fan of this because I love reading Victorian era novels, and I love pulling style elements from those designs.

Patterns:

Women’s: 2 cardigans, 1 vest, 2 dresses, 1 skirt 1 short sleeved top
Accessories: wedding veil, purse, shawl/shrug, garter, 2 necklaces and one set of  earrings, a broomstick lace shawl, a beach sarong (think shawl for your butt), 1 hat, 1 scarf

Household:  lace curtains, market bag, crayon/hook holder

Total pattern count: 21 patterns

My rating: 4Ballslulz Good pattern count, but not a fabulous selection, though I do love all the laceweight thrown among the pages.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

