Saturday Review: Stitch ‘N Bitch Crochet: The Happy Hooker

happy hookerStitch ‘N Bitch: The Happy Hookerby Debbie Stoller

There is simply not enough good that I can say about this book. I looked at a number of books when I learned to crochet (about 5 years ago) and it wasn’t until I found this one that I went farther than the chain stitch. The patterns are fun, and gorgeously displayed, the instructions are clear, the difficulty level is low, and (a great fact for beginners) the price is really reasonable, especially when compared with some of the other ‘starter’ books.

Just flipping through this book makes me itch to pick up a hook, but for a moment, let me go through the numbers.

Price (suggested retail, you can find it cheaper)- $15.95

Pages- 292

Patterns-45

Pages of instruction- 95

Between the variation in patterns, from cardigans to necklaces to doormats and everything in between and the instructions this book works for everyone from beginner to advanced crocheter. My copy is a bit worn because I used to tote it around as a reference guide for when I forgot how to do something :D.

My rating: 5-BOYSeriously, the only flaw I can begin to find in this book is that I would like an indication of the difficulty level of each project. Barring that (and it’s a small thing) I have no problem wholeheartedly endorsing this book.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

