Saturday Review: The Essential Guide to Color Knitting Techniques

 

COLOR

The Essential Guide to Color Knitting Techniques by Margaret Radcliffe

I have to say that I get very skeptical when books title themselves “the essential guide” or “the ___ bible” but in this case the book is everything the title claims, and maybe just a bit more.

I can definitely say that this book answered all of the questions I had about color knitting and some that I don’t think I would have ever thought of.

It comes with a section on color theory, stitch patterns (using different colors of course, stripes, multicolor yarns, stranded knitting, intarsia, and more. It also has sections on entrelac and shadow knitting, and a few patterns.

Besides all of the things I could go on about this book having, it also has amazing, clear color pictures. The technique pictures manage to be instructional and beautiful.

My rating: 5-Balls of YarnEven the most frugal person has to admit that this book really does give you your money’s worth and then some.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Saturday Review: The Essential Guide to Color Knitting Techniques”

  1. Janel Says:

    I’d like to see the links to related posts and the tags/categories in the left or right hand blank space rather than at the bottom of the post. Otherwise I like the neutral colour scheme, which makes it easy to read and easy on the eyes.

  2. Jo Barlow Says:

    That review was good- I should get a colour knitting how to sometime!

    1.) It would be fun to have a pattern that would be nice for summer! Like something light in cotton maybe?

    2.) I like you blog but I’d love it to have some more colour in the background or a pattern! I also think a different banner would look pretty..

  3. Inez Finley Says:

    I would love to see a pattern for socks knitted on one small circular needle. . . I’m just learning to knit socks and learning to join in the round on dpns was really tough!

    I like your blog, but to me, it feels like a store’s website. I like to feel like a blog is like coming into someone’s home. But, that’s just me! Yours is very well done, but that’s just my personal impression.

    But thanks for the giveaway contest~!

  4. Shelbi Says:

    Aww! The rating yarn balls are adorable:)

    1 I love simple things that are classic and won’t be in the “Why did I wear that then?” pile in a fews months. So I would recommend a stylish but neat knitted hat.

    2 What I love about your blog is how organized it all is. With your days-of-the-week like the Saturday Review or the Fiber Artist Friday. It’s a very cute idea and if someone wanted to look up something in your archive, it wouldn’t take forever to find “that one post about that thing”.

    Bookmarking your blog, can’t wait to see what comes after the Dreamweaving:) Great contest

  5. Fiber Artist Friday: Margaret Radcliffe « Hook and Needle Girl Says:

    […] because of her book The Essential Guide to Color Knitting Techniques. (which I’ve reviewed Here.) She is also the author of the ever helpful Knitting Answer […]

Leave a Reply

