Fiber Artist Friday: Debbie Stoller

Okay, I know I’m going to have some ticked off crochet-type-readers today, because as Franklin Habit is a knitter they are now expecting a crocheter, and Debbie Stoller is an equal opportunity stitcher.

debbie

I however will always think of her as a crocheter because it was from Stitch N Bitch Crochet: The Happy Hooker that I learned most of what I know about crochet.

What I really like about Debbie Stoller is that besides her equal opportunity stitching, she is also a feminist. This gives her books an attitude that  is lacking a bit in some others. She is of the opinion (and I agree) that just because knitting or crochet is a traditionally women’s job doesn’t make you less of an independent woman to do it.

happy hooker

The Happy Hooker book really has a bit of everything, from baby blankets to skull design pot holders. And there are quite a few wearables, a lack which I do notice quite often in other crochet books.

Because of all this and because she has, among other degrees a PhD in Women’s Psychology from Yale University, Dr. Stoller rocks!

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Fiber Artist Friday: Debbie Stoller”

  1. Pickle Sue Says:

    I love that a PhD in Psychology is addicted to fiber, too. I wonder if she would give us a discount on trying to fix our addictions! I don’t actually want it to be fixed! Ha!

Leave a Reply

