Tuesday Morning Tip: Crochet Stitch Diagrams

Normally on Tuesdays each post has a tip for crochet and knitting. Today however I will be explaining a bit about diagrams so this morning it will be Crochet Stitch Diagrams and this evening I will work on lace charts.

Crochet Stitch Diagrams, for some these are very scary. I know the first time I saw one I almost stopped crocheting.

crochet diagram

If you don’t know what you are looking at, then this looks very frightening. Kind of like those diagrams in the math text book that nobody understood. The diagram above is from Doris Chan‘s All Shawl pattern. I went around looking for a  good site to link it to, but alas, I think you are all stuck with me.

Stitch Diagram Tutorial

I know what you’re thinking, and I’m sorry about the constant use of paint, but well, it’s useful. I’m sorry if I offend anyone who is better at British/English crochet terminology. This outlines the basic differences that I’ve seen, the things that might trip someone up during translation.

The wonderful thing about these symbols is that when used properly, the finished diagram resembles the product. Each stitch symbol is made to be shaped, as you can see in the cluster stitch and the skip a stitch section.

These diagrams aren’t always the same, some people don’t use little dots to signify slip stitches, and some patterns don’t tell you where to begin (i.e. slip knot) but most of the stitch diagrams you see will have symbols at least similar to what is shown here.

I know that after learning these symbols, I actually prefer stitch diagrams to instructions listed by row. I now complain “why couldn’t you just make a diagram?” Now if only someone will create a program (besides Microsoft Paint) that will allow me to make my own charts……..

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Tuesday Morning Tip: Crochet Stitch Diagrams”

  1. simplyknots Says:

    Thank you SO much for this post! The basic outline of the stitches makes it much easier to understand. Crochet for Dummies, a book I had purchased as my intro into crochet had something similar to this but I found it confusing and more of a pretty picture than anything helpful. However, you’re post I’m bookmarking and going to make good use of it! Again thanks!

    Kcrystina
    Simply Knots – mixed media jewelry artist
    http://www.kcrystina.com

  2. glen Says:

    “someone will create a program (besides Microsoft Paint) that will allow me to make my own charts……..”

    have you tried “SymblCro”. It is a little better than paint.

    http://www.nhswinc.com/Download.html

    gwp

  3. siusi Says:

    bacanerrimo, obrigada!!!!!!!

  4. little star Says:

    well for me those diagrams are much easier ,i can’t work without them^^

  5. http://tinyurl.com/cherjune50390 Says:

    “Tuesday Morning Tip: Crochet Stitch Diagrams Hook and Needle
    Girl” in fact makes me ponder a small amount extra.
    I personally cherished every single element of it.
    Thanks -Madonna

Leave a Reply

