Monday Morning Magazine Review: Knitter’s, Inside Crochet

knitters

Knitter’s Summer 2009

This magazine started with a really fun article about the “Think outside the Sox contest” and showed a number of really cool sock designs.

There was also a yarn review of a few lace yarns, and it was very nice and included an easy lace shawl pattern.

The other patterns in this book are:

Children’s: leggings, afghan, entrelac sweater, dress, and cardigan

Women’s: 5 cardigans, 2 short sleeved shirts, one pullover sweater, 2 shrugs, 6 hats(4 of which are berets based on a basic form), 2 scarfs, 1 pair of gauntlets and one pair of beaded wrist warmers.

The over all beauty and quality of the designs is impressive, and looking through the magazine definitely gave me the itch to try out more than a couple of these 26 patterns.

Here are a few of my favorites:

knitters 3knitters 2

knitters 4

 

 

 

 

 

Rating: 4-BOYA very good magazine.

 

Inside Crochet June/July

I don’t have a picture of the cover of this magazine, it is only the second issue and it is from the UK. When I picked up and flipped through this magazine however, I saw immediately that it is amazing.

The articles it has are informative, entertaining, and above all plentiful. It doesn’t see it’s purpose as a periodical simply as a medium to transport patterns, and I love that.

I won’t go into all the articles (there were that many!) but a few are: Crochet in the News, Natural Dyes: Dye your own yarn,  Using Beads in crochet. There were also a good number of featured fiber artists and other useful things that had me gaping in delight.

Once I reattached my jaw I brought the magazine home and began to go through the patterns:

Women’s: 3 pullovers, a tunic, 2 shawls, a scarf, a cute circular shrug, a flounce necklace and  a cloche style hat

Men’s: there was a great felted shaving bag pattern by Drew Emborsky that would make a great gift!

Also there was one crochet stitch motif. Lovely and easy it even provides a tutorial on how to join them.

Here are a few of the patterns from this magazine:

crochet 1crochet 2crochet 3

My rating:5-BOY All in all this magazine floored me and I cant wait for the next one to come out. I see that I can get a digital version and skip the hassle of international costs…. I think I have a new favorite.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

