Book Review: Crochet Stitch Motifs

crochet stitch motifs

Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 stitches to crochet 

edtidy by: Erika Knight

The numbers:

  • 271 pages
  • 24 pages of instruction and explanation
  • 232 pages of motifs

So quick review. I haven’t had much time with this book, since I bought it today, but from the motif instructions I’ve read, it is definitely worth the cost. I picked this book up while browsing my local bookstore and in flipping through my mindset went from “eh, I’ve seen some motifs that are cute, but nothing I had to have” to “I am getting this book, you can’t stop me” in about three seconds.

Why, you ask? Because of this motif.

five branches

Isn’t it gorgeous?

I just know I can make a fabulous scarf out of that. The name was rather prophetic, as I spent the afternoon helping my neighbor take down trees, then hauling branches. This, by the way, is why I am late (almost 15 mins!) posting this; about which I am horrendously sorry.

For those of you who are less time sensitive and routine oriented and are saying “late? she had a schedule?” yes, I have been trying to post every 12 hours 6am and 6pm, if you look at the top of the post you will see that I am late by almost a quarter hour. Again, my apologies.

If that doesn’t just reach out and grab you, look at these two motifs:

six pt flakeeyelet sq

These pictures will definitely win no awards, but I wanted to give you the general idea.

These are definitely the more complicated of the motifs, and I can already see some people getting worried. They have all types, (you’d have to, with 250 slots to fill) and if you’re not experienced at crochet, (say a converted knitter….) Their is still plenty of pretty motifs at your skill level.

Best of all is that easy or difficult the motifs all come with both row-by-row instruction and a stitch diagram.

My rating: 5-BOY

Now if you’ll excuse me… I have some motifs to make.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Book Review: Crochet Stitch Motifs”

  1. Clare Says:

    Hey, this is Clare from Bearydo Cards, and I would be fine if you posted it here on your blog,..actually, to be honest, I’d love it! Also, the contest ends on Tuesday, June 16. 🙂
    Thank you!

  2. Fiber Artist Friday: Erika Knight « Hook and Needle Girl Says:

    […] She is the author of over 20 books about knitting, crochet and even on beading. She is the editor of all the harmony guides. You know, Cables and Arans, Basic Crochet Stitches, Knit&Purl, Colorwork, Lace and Eyelets, and who can forget (my personal favorite) Crochet Motifs. […]

Leave a Reply

